Anne Lindsey Protecting Our Earth Award


Nominations for the 2015 Anne Lindsey Protecting Our

Earth Award are now open.

The deadline for nominations is January 15, 2016.

Award will be presented at Reel Green on March 10th, 2016.


First established in 1990, the Anne Lindsey Protecting Our Earth Awards (affectionately known as the Earthies)  are presented by Manitoba Eco-Network annually in recognition of achievements in protecting and stewarding Manitoba’s environment.  The environmental community acknowledges the creativity, diligence and commitment of our peers in presenting the awards.

In 2011, Anne Lindsey retired from Manitoba Eco-Network after serving for 23 years as Executive Director.  In recognition of her extensive service, the Board of Directors voted to rename Manitoba Eco-Network’s Protecting Our Earth Awards in her honour.

For over 20 years, Manitoba Eco-Network has provided recognition to groups and individuals for their contributions in promoting sustainability and protecting ecosystems with its annual awards. Anne, an award winner herself, provided inspiration and mentoring for many of the groups and individuals who have won the award over the years. Anne has been active on nearly every environmental issue that concerns Manitoba.  She helped spearhead the campaign in the 1980s that kept nuclear waste out of this province, led initiatives on children’s health, and raised awareness about toxicity in our environment. It was under her leadership that the Manitoba Eco-Network took on important causes like food, climate change, and water.

POEA video


Previous Winners

Alice Chambers   Humbodt's Legacy
Anders Swanson   Ian Greaves
Anishinaabe Turtle Island Protectors   The 'Idle Free Girls'
Anne Lindsey   Janine Gibson
Assiniboine Credit Union   Jennifer Shay
Bill Goddard   Joe Dolecki
Brandon and Area Environmental Council   John Barker
Brian Pannell   Kenneth Emberley
Carl Driedger   The Landless Farmers Collective
Claude Huot   Manitoba Environmental Council
Concerned Citizens of Manitoba   Manitoba Naturalists Society
Concerned Citizens of the Valley   The Mathias Colomb Cree Nation
Curt Belton   Mitch Podolak
Dan Soprovich   Nick Carter
Daniel McIntyre/St. Matthews Community Association   Noah Erenberg
Dave Kattenburg   Organic Food Council of Manitoba
Dave Pancoe, Northern Soul Wilderness Adventures   Organic Producers Association of MB
David Barnes   Peter Miller
Dennis Cunningham   Rainforest Action Information Network
Don Sullivan   Randall McQuaker
Eva Pip   Resource Conservation Manitoba
The Forks, Target Zero Project   Richard Gamble and the Lake Winnipeg Foundation
Fred Tait   Roger Turenne
Friends of Oak Hammock Marsh   Ron Thiessen
Gerry Dube   Ruth Pryzner
Glen Koroluk   Sasha Kopelow
The Global Change Game   Save Our Seine
Greg Holden   Sisler's Sustainability Circle
Habitat Re-Store   Val Werier
Harvest Collective   Vicki Burns
Harvest Moon Society   Walter Danyluk
Harvey Williams   Western Canada Wilderness Committee - MB
Helen Fallding    
Helen McCullough    


Lifetime Achievement

Carl Ridd; Carolyn Garlich and Peter Miller

More in this category: Nominations »